The 3-month marketing lag

Marketing always follows this rule

Hey,

Anything good that has happened in my career was because I marketed myself.

But I noticed a pattern with marketing that doesn’t get talked about:

I call it the “3-Month Lag”.

The principle:

It takes marketing results 3 months to catch up with marketing effort

There are some exceptions to the rule (products that go viral, immediate sales on a new course, etc.)

But mostly, this is true.

My copywriting service, Pagetear, went through a funk for a couple months in the early summer where growth stagnated.

Why?

Reverse-engineering it, I realized I’d stopped making content and doing outreach.

No duh, growth stopped.

I course-corrected by doing essential marketing work for the biz.

And bob’s-your-uncle, I’ve seen a lot of interest and new clients coming through the past couple weeks.

So what does that actually mean for marketers and builders?

  • Try to plan your important marketing campaigns 3 months out at least

  • Start working on things sooner than you think

  • Be willing to delay gratification on your projects

If you’re building a personal brand because you want to sell digital products from your profile, awesome. What you do today…

→ The posts you share
→ The accounts you engage
→ The DMs you send

…will bear fruit in December.

If you’re leading growth at a startup, it’s…

→ The ideas you have
→ The tests you run
→ The conversation you have w/ customers

Important to note:

This is not an excuse to be lazy with your marketing. The work you put in today will NOT manifest in 3 months if you don’t put in similar work tomorrow as well.

Compounding results require consistent inputs.

That’s all for today,
Blake “Blakespeare” Emal

P.S. Reply to this email with the marketing work you’re consistently doing right now!

What did you think of today's issue?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Reply

or to participate.