The Service Free Trial

No, it shouldn't work. Yes, it does.

Hey,

I’ve treated my main biz (Pagetear) like a lab rat.

Whenever I have an interesting idea, I just plot it out on paper and then go implement it on my site.

90% of those experiments produce diddly squat.

One recently found me 2 new clients, though (~$20K LTV each). And it really shoulda failed.

I did a “free trial” for my recurring copywriting service.

Here’s what I did, step by step:

Creating the trial offer

  • Break down my normal offer into a 1-week portion

    • For me, I deliver 3-4 large copy requests per week

  • Split the 1-week portion into smaller delivery

    • Usually deliver full landing pages or email sequences, so split that into a landing page section or 1 single email

  • Take away features that add on time

    • For me, this meant taking revisions/edits off the table for the trial

  • Set up a new trial board in Notion

    • This is different than my usual client boards, more barebones and simplified

Promoting the trial offer

  • Post about the free trial on X and LinkedIn

  • Point to an application so you can qualify people (you don’t have to let every rando get a trial, select ones that would be great clients for you)

  • Keep the trial offer live for 24 hours

Delivering on the trial

Once you get trials coming in, just communicate with them. Your board should have some tutorials/walkthroughs/videos to answer 99% of the questions about the trial.

Clients will make requests for work — then just deliver good stuff.

That’s pretty much it.

The result for me:

→ 2 new clients already paid
→ 4 companies still in the trial

Definitely worth a week’s worth of smaller requests to meet some great new people/companies and being working with a couple of them.

Should be noted that I took the free trial off for now, I got enough takers on it that I needed to hit pause.

Honestly, even if it doesn’t lead to a new client for you…

It still might be worth it.

Potential for:

  • Meeting awesome new people/companies

  • Getting at least a testimonial out of it

  • Sharpening your saw

WDYT — you gonna try this out?

Blake

P.S. I reply to every email, drop me a note with what you want me to talk about next!

What did you think of today's issue?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Reply

or to participate.